SPACE ODYSSEY: my first project made with scratch

Introduction:

Welcome to SPACE ODYSSEY, buckle up for a thrilling journey across the cosmos, maneuver your spaceship and stop at planets to gather resources beware of the asteroids because a collision with them can cause damage to the ship.

SPACE ODYSSEY is my first project which I made with the help of Scratch a visual programming language. Check it out on Youtube here. If you want to try it out for yourself check it out here.

My Experience:

CS50x requires you to make a scratch project as the problem set 0 for week 0 (the first week) and after a few failed attempts at other projects learning from the previous ones, I started creating a basic outline of this project. A quick shot out to ChatGPT for helping me get unstuck and guiding me throughout the project, whether I was stuck at not being able to make the custom blocks for the object falling animation or me wanting a smoother ship maneuvering block. It was like having a personal mentor to help guide me along the way.

The complete project took me around 10 hours that I spent over 2 days, coffee helped a lot but it was mostly how intriguing the project was for me. Even though the project could have been completed in a smaller time frame, it took me longer for various reasons. It was my first time making a coding project and also my first time using scratch. Scatch being a visual programming language was easy to code with since I did not have to stress out about the syntax associated with every programming language. Even after my code worked properly I applied the concept of abstraction to make custom blocks and avoid repeating the same code blocks again and again. I had to do some debugging in the end, I was not able to figure out what made the planets freeze for a while when they were supposed to fall from the top. Thus after spending some time going through the code, I knew I needed some outside help, so I logged into Discord and posted a message along with a link to my project in the scratch channel of the CS50x Discord server. To my surprise, I received a reply very quickly, and after some back and forth I figured it out and fixed the bug. It was such a relief and then I ended up polishing the code and submitted it to my CS50 GitHub repository. It felt so good pressing the submit button as all the hard work had amounted to an amazing scratch project.

Thank you for reading this blog, it is my first blog as well. Looking forward to learning to code and writing amazing and more technical blogs going forward.